Wage and hour rights in the workplace are guaranteed by both federal and state law. Fortunately, California law extends even greater protection and affords more benefits than federal law. As compared with the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, California requires employers to pay a minimum of $8.00 per hour. Other wage and hour rights include, without limitation, the right to a 15-minute break for every four hours worked and the right to a meal break. An employer’s failure to abide by the above laws may constitute a wage and hour violation. Other wage and hour disputes may result from the following:
- improperly calculated overtime
- unpaid wages
- inadequate meal and rest periods
- misclassification of an employee’s overtime eligibility
- failure to pay vacation pay
- failure to reimburse expenses, including travel costs, mileage and equipment
Employment law further mandates that each employee be classified as either “exempt” (salaried worker) or “nonexempt” (hourly worker). Such nonexempt employees must be paid one and a half times their regularly hourly rate if they work more than 8 hours in a day or 40 hours in a given five-day work week. However, the rules governing whether an employee is considered exempt or nonexempt are complex, and employees are sometimes misclassified as exempt depending on the nature of their work. At The Gillam Law Firm, we are committed to educating our clients about their wage and hour rights under the law. Our attorneys possess comprehensive knowledge concerning hourly wages, salary and compensation, overtime law and other pay dispute matters. Contact an attorney at The Gillam Law Firm today to ensure that your rights are protected.